A Broadband and ADSL forum. BroadbandBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » BroadbandBanter forum » Broadband, ADSL & VOIP newsgroups » UK broadband
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

BT "rectified loop" fault ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 7th 03, 09:35 PM
Sunil Sood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default BT "rectified loop" fault ?

I've already googled this so I do have some idea but could someone
explain (in simple English) exactly what a "rectified loop" is as
reported by 17070?

At the moment 17070 is currently reporting "rectified loop, Line Length
2.90 Km" (this is from a line which used to have ADSL until recently)

I note the general advice (from Google) is to disconnect all your
extensions and retest before informing BT of a fault.. though I think it
may be due to BT removing ADSL from the line as my mother swears she
sometimes hears the phone give "one ring" at random (and the date she
says this started roughly concides wuth the exchange work)

Questions I have:

1. Does the "rectified loop" error mean that the approximate distance
reported by 17070 is totally wrong (3 years ago before I had ADSL
installed it used to be 3.x km) or could the change in distance be to do
with BT removing my line from the DSLAM etc..?

2. Does anyone have an idiots guide to removing (and reconnecting!)
extensions from an official BT "ADSL type" NTE (5?) so I can just test
the BT circuit by itself..?

3. Would this fault cause problems for a new ADSL line test? (in
particular for 1/2MB services)?

4. Is a "rectified loop" fault anything to do with the "capacitance"
reading - when I first got ADSL installed in 1999 BT first had to find
and fix a fault to get my nf reading 160 - until then they refused to
install ADSL as this was one of the test requirements.

TIA for any help...

Regards
Sunil


Ads
  #2  
Old August 7th 03, 11:16 PM
D.Middleton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 7 Aug 2003 21:35:34 +0100, "Sunil Sood"
wrote:

I've already googled this so I do have some idea but could someone
explain (in simple English) exactly what a "rectified loop" is as
reported by 17070?

It is a loop which only shows up in one direction. It is usually caused
by a damp socket or faulty internal wiring. It is usually always a
fault within the house. It generally shows up on an incoming call, as
the bell will only ring once as the loop builds up.


Bye for now.
David.
=========================
change the(AT) and (DOT)to e-mail
e-mail:-
david(AT)daves-cyberworld(DOT)co.uk
dm2584(AT)student.open.ac.uk
=====================
Web Site:-
www.daves-cyberworld.co.uk
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ADSL info. www.btofaq.net
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  #3  
Old August 7th 03, 11:16 PM
D.Middleton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 7 Aug 2003 21:35:34 +0100, "Sunil Sood"
wrote:

I've already googled this so I do have some idea but could someone
explain (in simple English) exactly what a "rectified loop" is as
reported by 17070?

It is a loop which only shows up in one direction. It is usually caused
by a damp socket or faulty internal wiring. It is usually always a
fault within the house. It generally shows up on an incoming call, as
the bell will only ring once as the loop builds up.


Bye for now.
David.
=========================
change the(AT) and (DOT)to e-mail
e-mail:-
david(AT)daves-cyberworld(DOT)co.uk
dm2584(AT)student.open.ac.uk
=====================
Web Site:-
www.daves-cyberworld.co.uk
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ADSL info. www.btofaq.net
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
  #4  
Old August 8th 03, 07:19 AM
Sunil Sood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"D.Middleton" wrote in message
...
On Thu, 7 Aug 2003 21:35:34 +0100, "Sunil Sood"
wrote:

I've already googled this so I do have some idea but could someone
explain (in simple English) exactly what a "rectified loop" is as
reported by 17070?


It is a loop which only shows up in one direction. It is usually

caused
by a damp socket or faulty internal wiring. It is usually always a
fault within the house. It generally shows up on an incoming call, as
the bell will only ring once as the loop builds up.


Thanks - as an update.. this morning I unscrewed the front of the BT
"ADSL" NTE5 (which I believe disconnects the extensions) - and tested
using the "hidden" socket at the back - 17070 then said the line was
ok.. (and didn't report a distance though I presume its still approx
2.90Km)

Anyway, I guess that this confirms that the problem is in the internal
wiring somewhe/

So my questions are -

1. Is it "safe" to leave the master socket "unscrewed" and plug a DECT
phone in the test socket and use the line like that..? (until the fault
is traced/extensions reconnected etc)

2. Doing the above won't affect any ADSL line tests will it?

3. How do I trace exactly were the fault is in the internal
extensions? - I have no "specialist" equipment - I see you say it could
be a damp socket or faulty internal wiring...

However, given the recent hot weather I doubt its a damp socket and as
for faulty internal wiring - it could be - as the wiring is now about
15/20 years old and has caused some problems before.. though it was all
checked by a BT engineer last year (who ok'ed it) and 17070 has
certainly never said we had a "rectified loop" problem before... (this
is 3 years + ago - as 17070 didn't work while ADSL was live on the
line..)

TIA for any help.

Regards
Sunil


  #5  
Old August 8th 03, 07:19 AM
Sunil Sood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"D.Middleton" wrote in message
...
On Thu, 7 Aug 2003 21:35:34 +0100, "Sunil Sood"
wrote:

I've already googled this so I do have some idea but could someone
explain (in simple English) exactly what a "rectified loop" is as
reported by 17070?


It is a loop which only shows up in one direction. It is usually

caused
by a damp socket or faulty internal wiring. It is usually always a
fault within the house. It generally shows up on an incoming call, as
the bell will only ring once as the loop builds up.


Thanks - as an update.. this morning I unscrewed the front of the BT
"ADSL" NTE5 (which I believe disconnects the extensions) - and tested
using the "hidden" socket at the back - 17070 then said the line was
ok.. (and didn't report a distance though I presume its still approx
2.90Km)

Anyway, I guess that this confirms that the problem is in the internal
wiring somewhe/

So my questions are -

1. Is it "safe" to leave the master socket "unscrewed" and plug a DECT
phone in the test socket and use the line like that..? (until the fault
is traced/extensions reconnected etc)

2. Doing the above won't affect any ADSL line tests will it?

3. How do I trace exactly were the fault is in the internal
extensions? - I have no "specialist" equipment - I see you say it could
be a damp socket or faulty internal wiring...

However, given the recent hot weather I doubt its a damp socket and as
for faulty internal wiring - it could be - as the wiring is now about
15/20 years old and has caused some problems before.. though it was all
checked by a BT engineer last year (who ok'ed it) and 17070 has
certainly never said we had a "rectified loop" problem before... (this
is 3 years + ago - as 17070 didn't work while ADSL was live on the
line..)

TIA for any help.

Regards
Sunil


  #6  
Old August 8th 03, 08:18 AM
Sunil Sood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Jik Ronson" wrote in message
news

The rectified loop (I have to disagree) is NOT always in the customers
premesis - most of the time it is, but not always. The line tester

also
tends to throw this remark when the insulation to earth is poor (less

than
1mg) and this tends to be in wet joints and buried tee-offs.

Things like OneTel (and other) phone pals, Sky Digiboxes, some

answeing
machines/faxes and even phones (new or old) can place this type of

fault on
a line so it is imperative that NOTHING is connected to the line. Test

it
with the faceplate off and NOTHING plugged in.


Hmm - I've taken the faceplate off but I have to plug a phone in the
"test socket" to use the 17070 test...

How do you test it with nothing plugged in?

Regards
Sunil


  #7  
Old August 8th 03, 08:18 AM
Sunil Sood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Jik Ronson" wrote in message
news

The rectified loop (I have to disagree) is NOT always in the customers
premesis - most of the time it is, but not always. The line tester

also
tends to throw this remark when the insulation to earth is poor (less

than
1mg) and this tends to be in wet joints and buried tee-offs.

Things like OneTel (and other) phone pals, Sky Digiboxes, some

answeing
machines/faxes and even phones (new or old) can place this type of

fault on
a line so it is imperative that NOTHING is connected to the line. Test

it
with the faceplate off and NOTHING plugged in.


Hmm - I've taken the faceplate off but I have to plug a phone in the
"test socket" to use the 17070 test...

How do you test it with nothing plugged in?

Regards
Sunil


  #8  
Old August 8th 03, 08:56 AM
Dan Wood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Sunil Sood" wrote in message
...

"Jik Ronson" wrote in message
news

The rectified loop (I have to disagree) is NOT always in the customers
premesis - most of the time it is, but not always. The line tester

also
tends to throw this remark when the insulation to earth is poor (less

than
1mg) and this tends to be in wet joints and buried tee-offs.

Things like OneTel (and other) phone pals, Sky Digiboxes, some

answeing
machines/faxes and even phones (new or old) can place this type of

fault on
a line so it is imperative that NOTHING is connected to the line. Test

it
with the faceplate off and NOTHING plugged in.


Hmm - I've taken the faceplate off but I have to plug a phone in the
"test socket" to use the 17070 test...

How do you test it with nothing plugged in?

Regards
Sunil


I've not used 17070 for over a year but it used to give an option of "line
test" where you could enter the phone number of the line you wanted to test.
The option of "ring-back line test" was for testing the line you were
phoning from.

If they haven't changed it, just find another phone on another BT line, call
17070 and then choose the line test option, so that you can key in your own
phone number and have the line tested remotely.

HTH,
Dan.


  #9  
Old August 8th 03, 08:56 AM
Dan Wood
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Sunil Sood" wrote in message
...

"Jik Ronson" wrote in message
news

The rectified loop (I have to disagree) is NOT always in the customers
premesis - most of the time it is, but not always. The line tester

also
tends to throw this remark when the insulation to earth is poor (less

than
1mg) and this tends to be in wet joints and buried tee-offs.

Things like OneTel (and other) phone pals, Sky Digiboxes, some

answeing
machines/faxes and even phones (new or old) can place this type of

fault on
a line so it is imperative that NOTHING is connected to the line. Test

it
with the faceplate off and NOTHING plugged in.


Hmm - I've taken the faceplate off but I have to plug a phone in the
"test socket" to use the 17070 test...

How do you test it with nothing plugged in?

Regards
Sunil


I've not used 17070 for over a year but it used to give an option of "line
test" where you could enter the phone number of the line you wanted to test.
The option of "ring-back line test" was for testing the line you were
phoning from.

If they haven't changed it, just find another phone on another BT line, call
17070 and then choose the line test option, so that you can key in your own
phone number and have the line tested remotely.

HTH,
Dan.


  #10  
Old August 8th 03, 01:38 PM
Eddie Grant
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

At the moment 17070 is currently reporting "rectified loop, Line Length
2.90 Km" (this is from a line which used to have ADSL until recently)


I was just wondering which option on 17070 you used to find out your line
length, I would be interested to find out mine but am unsure of which option
to use?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon DSL - Reducing Loop Length For Higher Speed? Bill Somerville General DSL & broadband 12 October 7th 04 04:53 AM
Verizon DSL - Reducing Loop Length For Higher Speed? Bill Somerville General DSL & broadband 0 October 2nd 04 05:26 PM
ADSL with fiber in the loop Khaled General DSL & broadband 10 September 3rd 04 09:13 PM
ADSL with fiber in the loop Khaled General DSL & broadband 0 September 1st 04 01:19 PM
Theory Question: ADSL loop extender rocker2002 General DSL & broadband 0 August 25th 03 01:00 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2014 BroadbandBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.